lookitrainer.blogg.se

Adium google hangouts
Adium google hangouts







adium google hangouts
  1. Adium google hangouts upgrade#
  2. Adium google hangouts password#

I want to like Google Hangouts, but Google is making it so hard. This has actually gotten quite a bit better since I wrote this post. It’d take a good 30-60 seconds before that conversation actually showed up. I’d get notified of a new conversation and when I opened the app, I wouldn’t see it. I had the iOS app on my phone for a while and it was just slow. Seems that Google+ names are everything and your address book is not important. Even if you add them to your address book they still show up as Untitled. If one of your contacts are not in Google+ they’re named Untitled. My choices are to either wait for it to figure things out, or just reload the whole browser tab. Not only does it take down Hangouts, but it also takes down Gmail since they’re all in one. Numerous times I’ve had Google Hangouts just stall when I was searching for someone. Since Google Hangouts includes all of Google+, it has a lot to search through. Especially since I wouldn’t want to accidentally IM them something that was work related. I’d like to have only my contacts and anyone using the same domain as my account (if it’s a custom domain) in Google Hangouts. Have you searched Hangouts for one of your contacts only to find a bunch of people you don’t know? It turns out Google Hangouts adds everyone in Google+ to your contact list and will display them when you’re searching for one of your contacts.

adium google hangouts

Again, this always on, always around idea is not ideal. Why can’t I setup accounts and enable/disable them when I want? That’d be so much more user-friendly.

Adium google hangouts password#

It doesn’t remember my username and/or password for when I want to log back in it basically erases me. When I log out of the iOS app it forgets I ever existed. Now I have people wondering why I’m not getting back to them when a simple ‘away’ status would do the trick. Same goes if I go to a meeting, I shouldn’t appear to be available when I’m not. Since I can’t set my status to ‘busy’ they just think I’m ignoring them. When I’m on the phone and someone IMs me, they don’t know that I’m on the phone. Now I get that Google Hangouts has a lot of great features that you can’t just add into desktop apps like Adium, but why can’t there be an API that will allow them to still do basic messaging? Or build their own Hangouts app? From what I understand, Google will eventually turn off the Google Talk service and force all users into Google Hangouts. Oddly enough, the last time I tried the Google Hangouts Chrome extension it causes my computer to log itself out randomly! I don’t have a clue how that could happen but as soon as I uninstalled the extension, it stopped logging out without my permission. You can’t use it with multiple accounts or even specify which account you’d like to use it with. It also only works for the 1st Google account you’re logged into. That’s all well and good except that means I need Chrome open if I want to message anyone. They like to keep things in the browser if possible or pop-them out via a Chrome extension. I know that Google doesn’t like to make to many desktop apps. It’s extremely annoying when the email you have open is an active thread as you ignore one notification, and then another will appear. This interrupts my conversation and prevents me from seeing what I’m typing. When I’m messaging someone, if the email I have open on my screen gets a new message, a notice will appear in front of my chat window. Here are some of the issues I’ve encountered. But the integration into Gmail leaves a lot to be desired. Now, I’m not talking about Google Hangouts as a standalone service. I’m sure someone at Google feels that the complaints we have will work themselves out, but as an early adopter, I hardly ever feel as turned off from a service as I do with Google Hangouts.

Adium google hangouts upgrade#

However, on the recent upgrade to Google Hangouts, things just went wrong. The IM service quickly took over Yahoo and AOL as the messenger of choice for millions. Google Talk was another great success from Google.









Adium google hangouts